Missouri Window Tint Law faq’s
HOW DARK CAN WINDOW TINT BE IN MISSOURI?
Darkness of tint is measured by Visible Light Transmission percentage (VLT%). In Missouri, this percentage refers to percentage of visible light allowed in through the combination of film and the window.
|Windshield||Non-reflective tint is allowed along the top of the windshield above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.|
|Front Side Windows||Must allow more than 35% of light in.|
|Back Side Windows||Any darkness can be used.|
|Rear Window||Any darkness can be used|
HOW REFLECTIVE CAN THE TINT BE IN MISSOURI?
Similar to sunglass lenses, some tinting film contain metallic elements that help in reflecting incoming light and reducing the glare and heat generated by visible light.
|Front Side Windows||Must not be more than 35% reflective.|
|Back Side Windows||Must not be more than 35% reflective.|
OTHER MISSOURI RULES AND REGULATIONS
|Restricted Colors||No colors of tint are explicitly banned.|
|Side Mirrors||Dual side mirrors are required if back window is tinted.|
|Certificate Requirements||Manufacturers of film do NOT need to certify the film they sell in the state.|
|Sticker Requirements||No sticker to identify legal tinting is required.|
|Medical Exemption||State allows medical exemptions for special tint. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law.|
Missouri Light Regulations
|Required Usage||Use of headlights are required from one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise or any other time when visibility is less than 500 feet. Do not drive with only parking lights on; this is dangerous.|
|Headlights||No more than four headlights (of over 300 candlepower) are permitted to be burning at one time.|
|Dimming Headlights||Headlights must be dimmed when approaching another vehicle within 500 feet or when following another vehicle within 300 feet.|
|Color of Lights||No red or blue lights are permitted toward the front of the vehicle, only white or amber, except on emergency vehicles or school buses.|
|Taillights||Two red taillights, two red reflector, and one white license plate light are required on the rear of motor vehicles; motorcycles require only one of each.|
|Clearance Lights||Only required on commercial vehicles.|
Missouri Bumper Height
Legislation has been introduced to add a new section relating to maximum bumper heights for motor vehicles. Under the section, vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 9,001 through 11,500 pounds would be authorized a front bumper height of up to 29 inches and rear bumper height of 31 inches. Missouri law currently makes no provision for vehicles of this size. The current Missouri bumper height law applicable to all other vehicles is substantially similar to the model legislation currently endorsed by the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA), which is supported by SEMA..
Missouri Emissions Exemption
SEMA-supported Missouri legislation to exempt all vehicles at least 26 years old from the state’s emissions inspection requirements has been introduced. Current law in Missouri only exempts vehicles manufactured prior to the 1971 model year from emissions inspection. Historic vehicles, defined as those more than 25 years old, owned as a collector’s item and only driven up to 1,000 miles per year also are exempt.